Dear Friends and Colleagues,

I’m tempted to say, “The sixth volume of the Indiana Undergraduate Journal of Cognitive Science is hot off the presses!” Of course, it wouldn’t be very accurate. Since its inception, IUJCS has been an online publication. There are many reasons for this, but we are propelled by one in particular: accessibility.

In any field or discipline, undergraduate students rarely have full access to the power and resources necessary to effectively conduct and publish independent research and writing. Nonetheless, in the field of cognitive science, scores of bright undergraduates are working on brilliant, innovative research every day. Many students are the principal investigators behind this research. We believe that they deserve due recognition for their work. The Indiana Undergraduate Journal of Cognitive Science is one way of empowering, motivating, and recognizing these students.

Cognitive science draws from many schools and disciplines, and students from a range of variegated programs, departments, and universities around the globe can contribute to our understanding of the mind. For these reasons, this journal is open to submissions from any undergraduate in any university in the world. It has no limit to the number of submissions it will accept, nor to the length or scope of those submissions. The fact that it is an online publication helps facilitate these principles.

Our only qualifications are that submissions are of sufficient quality, accuracy, originality, and scientific soundness. I’m confident that you’ll find these attributes in the five articles included in this volume.

Happy reading!


Ronak Shah
Executive Editor
Indiana Undergraduate Journal of Cognitive Science

Questions? Comments?
Contact the Webmaster

Copyright 2012, The Trustees of Indiana University
Copyright Complaints

iCogSci Staff

Executive Editor
Ronak Shah

Student Reviewers
Kevin Carlson
Anna Handy
Robert Hawkins
Lindsey Kitchell
Casey McGlasson
Alex Nay
Sean Phillips
James Torre

Breden Sewell

Web Designer
Michelle Capriles-Escobedo

Advisory Staff
Dr. Ruth Eberle
Dr. Rob Goldstone
Dr. Colin Allen

Sponsored by the
Indiana University Cognitive Science Program

Contact Information:

Cognitive Science Program
819 Eigenmann Hall
1910 E. 10th St.
Indiana University
Bloomington, Indiana 47406